Set of index cards describing some of the natural physical features of the townland of Glionnán/Gleannán [Glennaun]. Anecdotal information from the Annála Beaga, and reference to Ferdinando Follin [Feargananim Folan], the landowner in 1641, later disposed to Sir Thomas Meredith. By the time of the sale of the Martin Estate in 1849, the land was used by tenants for putting cattle out to pasture. Features described include Tamhnach na gCoileach, Cnocán an Bhodaigh, Loch Fhada Ghlionnáin [Glennaun Lodge on the OS maps], and Aill Mhór Ghlionnáin. Some of the information Tim Robinson found for Glennán was in a letter by Eoin Ó'Néill. Seán Ó'Ceoinín is also a local source of information.
Postcards
681 Archival description results for Postcards
Set of index cards describing some of the natural physical features of the townland of Inis Mhuscraí/Inis Múscraí [Inishmuskerry]. Some information on historical industry associated with this place, Annála Beaga notes it as a place of kelp making. Features described include Mullán an 'Majesty', Tóin na mBracaí, Caladh o Dheas, Carraig Fhada, Foirnis, Carraig na nDuibheán, Na Dolachtaí, Carraig an Loinsge, Barr an Ghoimh, An Raighleach, Biorán (Birane Rock on the OS maps), Caladh ó Thuaidh, Aill na hIomlachta, Carraig an Loinsge (Carrickalusk on the OS maps), and Carraig an Ghloinigh. P de Burca, Seán Ó'Ceoinín, and the information on Carraig an Ghloinigh credited to 'Cladaigh Chonamara', written in 1938 by Séamus Mac an Iomaire.
Set of index cards describing some of the natural physical features of the townland of Leitir Deiscirt [Letterdeskert]. Gleann na Teorann, Cora na Rón, Cnoc Leitir Deiscirt, An Charraig Bhuí, Garraí an Altóir, and just east of that, Tobar na Seacht nIníon, or the well of the seven sisters. A local man identified as Mac Giolla Phádraig believed the seven sisters to have been nuns, there is also speculation that they were the daughters of a British King, or daughters of the King of Leinster. Carraig Anama (possibly Carrickonama on the OS maps) also described. As well as Mac Giolla Phádraig, Sgt. P Ó'Conghaile is also credited with providing some of the information.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of Leitreach Ard, [Letterard]. Information from Griffith's Valuation, and from the sale of the Martin Estate in 1849 about large tenants and ownership. A note in the pronunciation, to say the people of the townland call it Leitir Ard, but Carna people call it Leitreach Ard. A note on the McDonagh family (Clann Donnchada na Céise, not Clann Donnchada an Teistúin). A description of Demesne Lodge, close to McDonagh's House on Nimmo's 19th century map. Other features described include Loch na Scinín, Loch Tanaí, Loch Pháidín Rua, Loch an tSnámh (Lough Dereenaniurla on the OS maps), Loch Ghleann an tStrutháin, Loch na Calgaí, Rosenure Harbour, Fraochoileán, Crompán Leitreach Ard, Maidhm Beag, Aill Bríd Ní Chaonaigh, Aill an Dá Bhinn (Aildaveen on Nimmo's map, and some notes describing the local people's interpretations of the placename), An Cathaoir, Aill an Bhindéil, Béal Chara, Talamh Ghairbh, Ard Garraí na bPoll, Cnocán na nUibheachaí, Bóithrín an Iarla, Leachta Mháire Ní Chionnaigh, Damhras, Tobar Cholm Cille, Damhras, Tobar Mhuire, Aill an Adhmaid, Leac na gCaorach, Aill Bhairbre Bheag, Mullán Sheáinín Jack, Aill na Móna, Píosa Pháidín Mhurchú, Gob na Nóinín, An Leic Mhór, Gleann an tSrutháin, Maidhm Smith, Doirín an Iarla, Inis Troigh, Cuan Caorthainm, Barret's Quay [Céibh Bairéad], and Bealach an tSoipín. Bedford's map, Pádraig Ó'Cadhla of Leitir Ard, Michael King of Inis Ní, Seosamh Ó'Dónall of Glinsce, Mary of Leitir Ard, Mrs Ridge of Leitir Ard, Tom Conneely, Josie Phádraig Cionnaigh of Leitir Ard, a Mrs McDonncha living locally, Matt Connolly of Leitir Ard, and P. Barrett were references consulted by Tim Robinson, all of whom are credited on the cards.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of An Leathmhás [Halfmace]. A note on a hedge school a few yards from the shore, and a description given of Tobar Carraig an Mhaistire, the Mace Head Atmospheric Research Centre, Cuainín na Bothóige (an account of a tragic incident that took place in its history), Oileán an Bhromaigh (Colt Island on the OS maps), Duirling na Spáinneach (where an Armada ship wrecked), Ceann Mása (Mace Head), An Dhitheallach, Campainn, Liath Brás (referred to as Lebros Rock on the 19th century maps), and Cuan an Leath Mhás. UCG lecturers Dr. Gerard Jennings, Dr. T C O'Connor, and Dr. A. F. Roddy, who are associated with the Mace Head Atmospheric Research Centre provided some of the information, and T. P. Kilfeather's Book 'Ireland, Graveyard of the Spanish Armada' is also a quoted source of information for this townland.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of Loch Conaortha [Loughaconeera]. Lough of the herd's dog, and a local story about how the townland got this name is relayed on the first card. Features described include a large limekiln, and the local national school, Scoil Colmcille which closed in 1955. Other physical features described include Cosán an Railway (used by workmen on the Galway-Clifden railway near Recess), Loch Conaortha (home of storyteller Seán Ó'Briain and the lough from which the townland derives its name), An Corrach, Aill na gCapall, Céibh Aill na dTornóg, Céibh an Dóilín, Cora an Chropáin, Móinín an tStrutháin, na Tamhnacha, An Éasca Chaol, na Snáthaidí, Crompán an Locha, Barr an Bhaile, Na Sruthracha/Na Srúilleacha, the village of Róisín, Colpa an Stoca, An Ghualainn Bhuí, Binn an Ghabhair (the shoulder and cliff of Cnoc Mordáin), An Anacair, and Béal an Mháma. Pat Sullivan of Coill Sáile, P MacDonncha, and an un-named neighbour of local man Pat Mór are credited with providing information.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of Leitir Padhbram, [Letterpibrum]. A couple of notes on historical ownership and leases in the townland derived from Griffith's Valuation, and Robert Simington's 'Books of Survey and Distribution'. Features described include Loch na Tulaí Buí (Collhanigra Lough on the OS maps), Loichiní Bharr an Chroic, Locha Poibruim, and Cloch an Chlochair. Seán Ó'Ceoinín, and Eoin Ó'Néill are credited as being sources of information.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of Loch an Bhuí [Loughawee]. Historical information from Griffith's Valuation is summarised, a note about Fernando Follin [Feargananim Folan] to say the land was disposed to Sir Thomas Meredith in 1641. Features described include Loch na Circe Fraoigh, Cnocán an Aifrinn (a hair-raising anecdote about how it got its name relayed to Tim Robinson by various local people, and with little variation), Cnoc Mordáin, and Loch an Bhuí. M. Coyne and Tom Festy are credited with providing some of the information.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of Maíros/ Maighros [Moyrus]. Several notes on the different formats and spellings of the townland's name. Some of the local features described include Forrest View House, Trá Mhaighrois, Fraochoileán (Freaghillaun on the OS maps), Carraigh Raghnaill and Leathreach Raighnaill (an anecdote about how it is haunted by the hound of the friar Raghnall), Garbh Charraig, Reilig Mhaighrois, Sruthán Sianach/Tobar Sianach (Toberskeenagh Holy Well on the OS maps), Roisín a tSamha, Cibh an Droighne, Portach Mhaighrois, Abhainn an Mhuilinn (which marks the border between Maighros and An Coillín), Inis Bigir (Bigger's Island on the OS maps). A note in Seán Mac Giollarnath's 'Annála Beaga an Iorras Aitheanta' about buried treasure left there by a 'ceithearnach' (middlemen, or lightly armed foot soldiers) from Dumhaigh Ithir. A note about the ruins of the Mission School and Parsonage, which was also the site of a church in the past, but no trace of the church remains. A few graves are to be found, most notably that of Archibald Thomas Hamilton (see Leitir Seanaidh). Various local sources informed the information gathered on this placename, as indicated by the word 'local' on many cards.
Set of index cards describing the local features of the townland of An Más [Mace]. Features described include Carrig A Mungan, Béal an Mhása An Murlach, Céibh an Mhása (a pier shown on the OS maps), Loch an Phúca, Crompán na gCapall, An Fhuaigh, Na Roisíní, An Damba, and Barr an Mhulaigh. As well as Nimmo's 19th century map and un-named local sources of information, Seán McDonncha is credited with providing some of the local information.